The National Weather Service in Des Moines has issued a TORNADO WATCH for 47 of its 51 county coverage area until 9 PM.

Counties included:

AUDUBON              BENTON              BLACK HAWK
BOONE                BREMER              BUCHANAN
BUENA VISTA          BUTLER              CALHOUN
CHICKASAW            CLAY                CRAWFORD
DALLAS               EMMET               FAYETTE
FLOYD                FRANKLIN            GREENE
GRUNDY               GUTHRIE             HAMILTON
HANCOCK              HARDIN              HARRISON
HUMBOLDT             IDA                 IOWA
JASPER               KOSSUTH             MARSHALL
MONONA               PALO ALTO           POCAHONTAS
POLK                 POWESHIEK           SAC
SHELBY               STORY               TAMA
WEBSTER              WINNEBAGO           WOODBURY
WORTH                WRIGHT

The National Weather Service has put the watch area in a 5% risk area for a tornado during the watch period:



KEEP READING: What to do after a tornado strikes


Top 12 Iowa Towns With Silly Sounding Names




More From 97.7 KCRR