Several law enforcement agencies in Iowa are participating in the National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day on Saturday (April 27, 2019).

Hours of the event are 10 AM to 2 PM at various locations. The list of most eastern Iowa drop-off sites is posted below.

Sponsored by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), Drug Take-Back Day lets patients and their families dispose of unwanted, unused or expired medications. The service is free and anonymous, no questions asked.

Illicit substances such as marijuana are not part of this initiative. Injectable, IV solutions, inhalers and other compressed air cylinders will not be accepted. The DEA will not accept liquids, needles or sharps, only pills and patches.

The Take-Back event addresses a vital public safety and public health issue. According to DEA, medicines that languish in home cabinets are highly susceptible to diversion, misuse, and abuse. Rates of prescription drug abuse in the U.S. are alarmingly high, as are the number of accidental poisonings and overdoses due to these drugs.

Studies show that a majority of abused prescription drugs are obtained from family and friends, including from the home medicine cabinet. In addition, Americans are now advised that their usual methods for disposing of unused medicines -- flushing them down the toilet or throwing them in the trash -- both pose potential safety and health hazards.

A year ago, the last Take-Back Day brought in more than 900,000 pounds of unused or expired prescription medication. Since the fall of 2010, the total amount collected by DEA is nearly 10.9 million pounds.

For more information about the disposal of prescription drugs or about the April 27 Take-Back Day event, go to the DEA Diversion or the Governor's Office of Drug Control Policy websites.

List of Participating Agencies and Drop-off Sites in Eastern Iowa:

Calmar: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Calmar-Ossian Police Department - 101 Washington Street
Cedar Falls: Cedar Falls Police Department - 220 Clay Street
Cedar Rapids: Linn County Sheriff's Department - 310 2nd Avenue Southwest
Cedar Rapids: Cedar Rapids Police Department | Sunner Memorial Park - 701 Valor Way Southwest
Charles City: Charles City Police Department - 105 Milwaukee Mall
Chester: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Chester City Hall - 302 Main Street
Coralville: Coralville Police Department - 1503 5th Street
Coralville: Coralville Police Department | Hy-Vee - 3285 Crosspark Road
Coralville: Coralville Police Department | Hy-Vee - 1914 8th Street
Cresco: Howard County Sheriff's Department - 124 South Park Place
Decorah: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Donlon's Pharmacy - 201 West Water Street
Decorah: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Thrifty White Pharmacy - 702 Montgomery Street
Decorah: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Walmart Super Center - 1798 Old Stage Road
Elkader: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Clayton County Sheriff's Department - 22680 230th Street
Elma: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Elma Fire Department - Orchard Avenue
Hiawatha: Hiawatha Police Department - 101 Emmons Street
Independence: Buchanan County Sheriff's Department | Walmart - 302 Enterprise Drive
Iowa City: Iowa City Police Department | East Side Recycling Center - 2401 Scott Boulevard Southeast
Iowa City: Johnson County Sheriff's Department - 511 South Capitol Street
Lansing: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Lansing Fire Department - 51 North Front Street
Lime Springs: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Lime Springs City Hall - 201 Center Street
Manchester: Delaware County Sheriff's Department - 304 East Delaware Street
Manchester: Manchester Police Department | Blakesley Drug - 220 East Main Street
Marengo: Iowa County Sheriff's Department - 960 Franklyn Avenue
Marion: Marion Police Department - 6315 U.S. Highway 151
Marquette: Mar-Mac Police Department | Marquette City Hall - 102 1st Street
McGregor: Mar-Mac Police Department | McGregor Public Library - 334 Main Street
Mount Vernon: Mount Vernon Police Department - 213 First Avenue Northwest
New Hampton: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Chickasaw County Community Center - 260 East Prospect Street
North Liberty: North Liberty Police Department - 5 East Cherry Street
Postville: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Postville City Hall - 147 North Lawler Street
Protivin: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Protivin Fire Department - 132 Larson Avenue
Riceville: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Riceville Fire Department - 106 Walnut Street
Vinton: Benton County Sheriff's Department - 113 East 3rd Street
Waterloo: Waterloo Police Department - Greenwood Drug, 2104 Kimball Ave.
Waukon: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Waukon Police Department - 104 1st Street
Waukon: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Allamakee County Sheriff's Department - 877 Iowa Highway 9
Waverly: Bremer County Sheriff's Department - 111 4th Street NE
Waverly: Waverly Police Department | Waverly Public Library - 1500 West Bremer Ave.
West Branch: West Branch Police Department | West Branch City Hall - 110 North Poplar Street
West Liberty: West Liberty Police Department | West Liberty City Hall - 409 North Calhoun Street (10 AM - 1 PM)
West Union: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Fayette County Sheriff's Department - 220 North Industrial Parkway
West Union: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Steege Pharmacy - 119 North Vine Street
West Union: Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force | Union Drug Store - 315 Iowa Highway 150
Williamsburg: Williamsburg Police Department - 210 West State Street

More From 97.7 KCRR