Some of the top high school female student-athletes in Iowa will be hitting the mats to vie for a title this weekend.

The Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA) is staging its first interscholastic Iowa High School Girls Wrestling Championships at Waverly-Shell Rock High School in Waverly on Saturday (Jan. 19, 2019).

Competition is scheduled to begin at 10:30 AM. Weigh-ins are slated to start at 8:30 AM. The event will feature ten weight classes The event will feature 10 weight classes (106, 113, 120, 126, 132, 138, 152, 170, 195, 285) and the top six place winners will be recognized in each weight class.

The top three teams will also be recognized. Team scores will be kept for the girls' division. A maximum of 10 participants will be eligible to score points for their team.

The 2019 championship event conducted by the IWCOA marks the end of the second season in which member schools of the Iowa High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) offered females the opportunity to compete in girls’ divisions. All eligible girls competing on wrestling teams sponsored by IHSAA-member schools and included on their rosters are eligible to participate. Under IHSAA rules, this weekend's championship event counts as one of the wrestler’s 17 competition dates allowed during the season.

Nationally, girls wrestling participation has nearly doubled since 2014 with more than 16,000 athletes competing during the 2017-18 season, according to the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS). IHSAA-member high schools had 93 girls participating in wrestling last season, when Ogden and Independence made history by offering the first in-season girls’ divisions. With new competition opportunities and teams recruiting and creating opportunities for their school’s female wrestlers, participation in Iowa has increased to 157 girls.

1 Ali Gerbacht AGWSR Jr.
2 Ella Schmit Bettendorf Fr.
3 Chloe Krebsbach Osage Sr.
4 Hannah Michael Union Sr.
5 Alexis Partida West Liberty Jr.
6 Jade Armbruster Maquoketa Jr.

1 Tateum Park Davenport North Jr.
2 Emma Cochran Chariton Sr.
3 Kari German Starmont Jr.
4 Riley Rodish Waukee Fr.
5 Karley Havener Hinton Fr.
6 Marissa Bengston Charles City So.

1 Sydney Park Davenport Central Fr.
2 Ashlynn Miller North Cedar Fr.
3 Meridian Snitker Waukon Fr.
4 Hannah Raney Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln Fr.
5 Brynn Miller Pleasantville Fr.
6 Madison Adams Osage Jr.

1 Chloe Clemons Cedar Rapids Jefferson Jr.
2 Keagan King South Central Calhoun Sr.
3 Toni Maloy Charles City So.
4 Mariah Webster Colfax-Mingo Fr.
5 Sophia Adams NH/TV So.
6 Cailey Reyna Waverly-Shell Rock Jr.

1 Rylee Vercande Mid-Prairie Fr.
2 Jacey Meier Waverly-Shell Rock Sr.
3 Emma Grimm Charles City So.
4 Michaela Blume Clayton Ridge So.
5 Marley Hagarty Charles City So.
6 Kylie Doty Colfax-Mingo Fr.

1 Olivia Diggins Logan-Magnolia Jr.
2 Evah Owens Central City So.
3 Abby McIntyre Glenwood So.
4 Avery Meier Waverly-Shell Rock So.
5 Mea Burkle Wilton So.
6 Annika Behrends Waverly-Shell Rock Fr.

1 Madison Buffum Missouri Valley So.
2 Reanna Rife Logan-Magnolia Jr.
3 Hedda Kveum Waverly-Shell Rock Sr.
4 Allie Cross Charles City So.
5 Madison Goosmann Hinton Fr.
6 Rachel Roose Waverly-Shell Rock Jr.

Jayden Bentley - Photo courtesy of Joe Edmondson
Jayden Bentley - Photo courtesy of Joe Edmondson

1 Jayden Bentley Waterloo East So.
2 Haley Eckerman Waverly-Shell Rock Jr.
3 Jacenta Sargisson LeMars Jr.
4 Josie Matgen LeMars So.
5 Karen Meyer Ridge View Fr.
6 Eeden Highland Des Moines Roosevelt Jr.

1 Millie Peach Iowa Valley So.
2 Nevaeh Bushaw Waukon So.
3 Hanna Johnson Waverly-Shell Rock Sr.
4 Chloe Forck Colfax-Mingo Jr.
5 Leila Seaton South Hamilton Sr.

1 Rilee Slycord Colfax-Mingo Sr.
2 Iliana Yanes Riverside, Oakland So.
3 Destiny McBride-Dannels Colfax-Mingo Fr.
4 Jaycie Webster Colfax-Mingo Sr.
5 Jaden Gaylord Glenwood So.
6 Kalysta Rodriguez Charles City Jr.

More From 97.7 KCRR