Waterloo city officials are asking residents to move their vehicles off city streets.

A snow emergency has been declared by the City of Waterloo until 6:00 p.m. Tuesday (January 6, 2015). Snow routes are in effect for this period of time.

Residents are encouraged to move cars off streets to allow snow removal crews to clear city streets. The 48-hour parking violation will be enforced.

Citizens are reminded that trucks spread salt and sand. Please maintain a safe distance (50 feet) back from snowplows. Please be courteous and allow the  road maintenance crews to do their work safely.

Officials are also recommending no travel for rural areas of Black Hawk County. A tow ban is in effect for all unincorporated areas of the county until full daylight on Tuesday.

Snow emergencies are also in effect for the following cities:

  • Denver: 10 p.m. Monday through Noon Tuesday
  • Evansdale: 4 p.m. Monday through 4 p.m. Tuesday
  • Hazelton: Through 6 p.m. Tuesday
  • Hudson: 6 p.m. Monday through 6 p.m. Wednesday
  • Jesup: 8 p.m. Monday through 4 p.m. Tuesday
  • La Porte City: 4:00 a.m. Tuesday through 4:00 p.m. Wednesday
  • Manchester: Residents should park on odd side of street until further notice
  • New Hartford: Through 10 a.m. Wednesday
  • Oelwein: Through 6 a.m. Wednesday
  • Parkersburg: Through noon Tuesday
  • Raymond: Until 5 p.m. Tuesday
  • Shell Rock: Through 7 a.m. Wednesday
  • Traer: 5 p.m. Monday through 5 p.m. Tuesday
  • Tripoli: 6 p.m. Monday through 6 p.m. Tuesday
  • Waterloo: Through 6 p.m. Tuesday

More From 97.7 KCRR