Several law enforcement agencies and pharmacies in Iowa are taking part in the National Prescription Drug Take Back Day on Saturday (April 29, 2017).

Hours of the event are 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at various locations. The list of area drop-off sites is posted below.

Sponsored by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), Drug Take Back Day lets patients and their families dispose of unwanted, unused or expired medications. The service is free and anonymous, no questions asked.

Illicit substances such as marijuana are not part of this initiative. Injectable, IV solutions, inhalers and other compressed air cylinders will not be accepted.

The Take Back event addresses a vital public safety and public health issue. According to DEA, medicines that languish in home cabinets are highly susceptible to diversion, misuse, and abuse. Rates of prescription drug abuse in the U.S. are alarmingly high, as are the number of accidental poisonings and overdoses due to these drugs.

Studies show that a majority of abused prescription drugs are obtained from family and friends, including from the home medicine cabinet. In addition, Americans are now advised that their usual methods for disposing of unused medicines—flushing them down the toilet or throwing them in the trash—both pose potential safety and health hazards.

Last October, Americans turned in 366 tons (over 730,000 pounds) of prescription drugs at almost 5,200 sites operated by the DEA and more than 4,000 of its state and local law enforcement partners. Overall, in its 12 previous Take Back events, DEA and its partners have taken in over 7.1 million pounds—more than 3,500 tons—of pills.

For more information about the disposal of prescription drugs or about the April 29 Take Back Day event, go to the DEA Diversion website.

List of Participating Area Law Enforcement Agencies and Pharmacies:

Allison: Butler County Sheriff's Office - 428 6th Street
Cedar Falls: Cedar Falls Police Department - 220 Clay Street
Charles City: Charles City Police Department - 105 Milwaukee Mall
Cresco: Howard County Sheriff's Office - 124 South Park Place
Decorah: Donlon Pharmacy - 201 West Water Street
Eldora: Hardin County Sheriff's Office - 1116 14th Ave.
Grundy Center: Grundy County Sheriff's Office - 705 8th Street
Hampton: Franklin County Sheriff's Office - 105 5th Street SW
Independence: Buchanan County Sheriff's Office - Court House, 210 5th Ave. NE
Independence: Ryan Pharmacy - 1100 1st Street East
Marshalltown: Marshalltown Police Department - 22 North Center Street
Marshalltown: Marshall County Sheriff's Office - 2369 Jessup Ave.
New Hampton: Bennett Pharmacy - 1 West Main Street
Toledo: Tama County Sheriff's Office - 100 North Main Street
Vinton: Benton County Sheriff's Office - 113 East 3rd Street
Waterloo: Black Hawk County Sheriff's Office - 225 East 6th Street
Waterloo: Allen Clinic Pharmacy - 146 West Dale Street, Suite 103
Waterloo: Greenwood Drug - 2104 Kimball Ave.
Waukon: Hartig Drug - 21 West Main Street
Waverly: Meyer Pharmacy - 110 10th Street SW
West Union: Fayette County Sheriff's Office - 220 North Industrial Parkway

For complete list of drop-off sites in Iowa, CLICK HERE.

More From 97.7 KCRR