Gov. Kim Reynolds announced 740 new coronavirus cases Friday, increasing the statewide total to 7,885.

Accoring to the governor, 85-percent of the positive tests in Iowa are from the 22 counties where COVID-19 restriction remain in place. At her morning press briefing, Reynolds reported that 516 of the coronavirus cases were from Black Hawk, Dallas, Polk and Woodbury Counties combined.

The governor also reported an additional 8 deaths, which included one adult from Bremer County and two adults from Polk County -- both over the age of 81. The deaths also included two Linn County adults and one Scott County adult between the ages of 41 and 60, and two Muscatine County adults -- both over the age of 61.

COVID-19 has now claimed 170 lives in Iowa.

State health officials say 345 people are currently hospitalized in Iowa with symptoms of the coronavirus. The patients being treated include 326 Iowans and 19 out-of-state residents.

Right now, 95 patients are hospitalized in area counties: 48 are in Black Hawk County, 30 are in Dubuque and Marshall Counties (15 each), eight are in Tama County, three are in Benton County, two are in Hardin County, and the other patients are being treated in Clayton, Delaware, Floyd and Grundy Counties (one each). The person being treated in Floyd County is the county’s first recorded case of COVID-19.

There are currently 73 people hospitalized for treatment of COVID-19 in Polk County, 58 in Woodbury County, 16 in Linn County, 15 in Dubuque County, 13 in Scott County, 12 in Dallas County and 11 in Muscatine County.

97.7 KCRR logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

More From 97.7 KCRR