Week three of the 2016 Iowa high school football season features the start of district play for many teams across the state. There's a full schedule of games involving teams from the Cedar Valley and northeast Iowa tonight (Friday, Sept. 9, 2016).

Among the area games are a pair of top-10 match-ups in Class-2A, District 4, which features five ranked teams among the group of eight. The marquee games include top-ranked North Fayette Valley visiting No. 3 Cascade and fifth-ranked La Porte City Union playing at No. 10 Monticello.

There's also a non-district showdown featuring rated teams in Class-4A: No. 10 Cedar Falls travels to sixth-rated Iowa City West. (CLICK HERE to view this week’s rankings.)

For most teams, tonight’s games count toward the playoffs. Winning the district contests are more-critical this season than in previous years because the post-season field has been reduced from 32 teams to 16 in each class. Starting this year, only two teams from each district are guaranteed a playoff spot.

Here’s the entire list of games involving Cedar Valley and northeast Iowa teams scheduled to be played tonight:

Wapsie Valley, Fairbank @ Alburnett (A, D4)
3A-#5 West Delaware, Manchester @ Assumption, Davenport (3A, D4)
Sumner-Fredericksburg @ BCLUW, Conrad (1A, D2)
Iowa Falls-Alden @ Boone (3A, D2)
2A-#1 North Fayette Valley @ 2A-#3 Cascade, Western Dubuque (2A, D4)
Maquoketa @ Center Point-Urbana (3A, D4)
**Kee, Lansing @ Central City (8P, D3)
**Tripoli @ Central, Elkader (8P, D3)
South Tama County, Tama @ Charles City (3A, D3)
**West Central, Maynard @ Clarksville (Non-District)
Tipton @ Clayton Ridge, Guttenberg (1A, D3)
A-#10 Hudson @ Colfax-Mingo (A-D5)
South Winneshiek, Calmar @ #5 Denver (1A, D2)
**Dunkerton @ 8P-#1 Don Bosco, Gilbertville (8P, D3)
North Linn, Troy Mills @ East Buchanan, Winthrop (A, D4)
Waterloo, West @ Epworth, Western Dubuque (Non-District)
Rockford @ Grundy Center (A, D3)
Crestwood, Cresco @ Hampton-Dumont (2A, D2)
Waverly-Shell Rock @ Independence (3A, D3)
4A-#10 Cedar Falls @ 4A-#6 Iowa City, West (Non-District)
**Northwood-Kensett @ Janesville (8P, D2)
1A-#10 West Branch @ Jesup (1A, D3)
2A-#5 Union, La Porte City @ 2A-#10 Monticello (2A, D4) [Game Preview]
A-#1 Saint Ansgar @ Nashua-Plainfield (A, D3)
Forest City @ 2A-#2 New Hampton (2A, D2)
A-#8 West Hancock, Britt @ North Butler, Greene (A, D3)
A-#2 Gladbrook-Reinbeck @ North Tama, Traer (A, D5)
Columbus Catholic, Waterloo @ Oelwein (2A, D4)
Edgewood-Colesburg @ Postville (A, D4)
**8P-#4 AGWSR, Ackley @ Riceville (8P, D2)
Dike-New Hartford @ Saydel (2A, D3)
A-#4 Lisbon @ Starmont (A, D4)
**North Iowa, Buffalo Center @ 8P-#8 Turkey Valley, Jackson Junction (8P, D2)
Decorah @ Vinton-Shellsburg (3A, D3)
Marshalltown @ Waterloo, East (4A, Non-District)
Aplington-Parkersburg @ West Marshall, State Center (2A, D3)

**Denotes 8-Player Games