Hudson came closer than any opponent to beating No. 1 ranked West Sioux this season, but Coach Justin Brekke's team couldn't find a way to stop the Falcons' high-powered offense.

The second-ranked Pirates left the UNI-Dome with the consolation trophy after dropping a 35-14 decision to West Sioux of Hawarden in the Class A championship game of the Iowa High School Football Playoffs Thursday afternoon (Nov. 16, 2017). It was a bittersweet end to the Pirates' best season in nearly a quarter century.

Entering the game, Hudson knew it faced a tough challenge and the Pirates proved they were up to the task. They held a West Sioux team that was averaging more than 57 points per contest to 23 points below its average. In fact, the game was close until Hudson committed a pair of costly turnovers in the fourth quarter.

The Pirates (12-1) had momentum early, moving to West Sioux's 13-yard line on a late first-quarter drive. But the possession ended with a blocked 30-yard field goal. On the ensuing drive, the Falcons marched 85 yards in seven plays. They took a 7-0 lead on Hunter Dekkers' 26-yard scoring pass to Victor Hernandez at the 1:54 mark.

Three times in the first half Hudson drove inside the opponent's 35-yard-line. Each time the Pirates came away without any points.

West Sioux (13-0) scored on a 61-yard pass play in the second quarter to built a 14-0 halftime lead, then increased the margin to 21-0 on the first drive of the third quarter.

Hudson didn't find the end zone until the 8:38 mark of the third quarter, scoring on Alex Staebell's 34-yard run. The Pirates added another touchdown later in the period, but the two-yard run by Christian Seres came after the Falcons owned a 28-7 advantage.

Seres led Hudson's rushing attack with 68 yards on 24 carries. Jacob Murray threw for 124 yards on 11 of 21 passing, but he also threw two picks.

West Sioux was led by Chase Koopmans, who caught a championship game record 10 passes for 145 yards.

The championship was the first for the Falcons, while Hudson was seeking its third in five title game appearances. The Pirates last won the championship in 1994.

More From 97.7 KCRR