Nine of the 14 area teams selected for the Iowa high school football playoffs are ranked heading into their first-round games Friday night (Oct. 26, 2018).

This week's Associated Press poll once again features Hudson as the No. 1 team in Class A. The undefeated Pirates have been the top-rated team all season and is considered one of the favorites to win a state championship, after finishing second a year ago. Ranked behind Hudson are North Tama at No. 4 and Wapsie Valley at No. 6.

Dike-New Hartford also enters the post-season as strong contender to win a title. The unbeaten Wolverines lead the Class 1A rankings. They defeated Iowa City Regina 56-28 in last week's regular-season finale, a victory that snapped the Regals' 57-game district win streak and their run of 15-straight state playoff appearances that began in 2004.

Two-time defending eight-player champion Don Bosco is ranked third heading into post-season play. Turkey Valley is ranked six spots behind the Dons, at No. 9.

Cedar Falls has shown all year that it, too, will be battling for a state championship. The unbeaten Tigers are No. 2 in the Class 4A rankings.

The final rankings also feature Waverly-Shell Rock (No. 9, Class 3A) and Waukon (No. 3, Class 2A).

Five area squads fell short of making the top 10, but did receive votes. Those teams were: Decorah, Crestwood, La Porte City, Waterloo Columbus Catholic and Gladbrook-Reinbeck.

The Top Ten teams in the Associated Press Iowa high school football polls of the 2018 season with first-place votes in parentheses, win-loss record, and total points:

1. West Des Moines Valley (7)9-0881
2. Cedar Falls (1)9-0802
3. Ankeny Centennial (1)9-0743
4. Bettendorf8-1584
5. West Des Moines Dowling7-2545
6. Iowa City West8-1477
7. Waukee7-2368
8. Johnston7-2276
9. Fort Dodge7-21810
10. Cedar Rapids Prairie7-2139

Others receiving votes: None.

1. Cedar Rapids Xavier (8)9-0891
2. Council Bluffs Lewis Central (1)9-0792
3. Solon9-0733
4. Eldridge North Scott8-1634
5. Sergeant Bluff-Luton8-1555
6. Pella8-1397
7. Oskaloosa8-1258
8. Epworth Western Dubuque7-2239
9. Waverly-Shell Rock8-12110
10. Clear Creek-Amana8-18NR

Others receiving votes: Decorah 7. Harlan 5. Sioux City Heelan 5. Spencer 3.

1. Monroe PCM (9)9-0901
2. Boyden-Hull-RV8-1812
3. Waukon8-1694
4. Van Horne Benton8-1605
5. Southeast Valley7-2417
6. Algona8-1303
7. Spirit Lake7-2298
8. State Center West Marshall7-223T10
9. Greene County8-1199
10. Clear Lake7-216NR

Others receiving votes: Chariton 10. West Liberty 8. Cresco Crestwood 7. Williamsburg 6. Union, La Porte City 4. Waterloo Columbus 2.

1. Dike-New Hartford (5)9-0821
2. Bellevue (2)9-0743
3. Van Meter (1)9-0692
4. South Central Calhoun (1)9-0684
5. Hawarden West Sioux8-1515
6. West Branch8-1476
7. Truro Interstate 359-0388
8. Wilton8-1347
9. Mediapolis8-1139
10. Inwood West Lyon7-29NR

Others receiving votes: Treynor 6. Pella Christian 3. Osage 1.

1. Hudson (9)9-0901
2. A-H-S-T-W, Avoca9-0792
3. Algona Garrigan9-0743
4. Traer North Tama8-1564
5. Edgewood-Colesburg8-1545
6. Fairbank Wapsie Valley7-2287
7. Durant7-2248
8. Sloan Westwood8-12310
9. Britt West Hancock7-2229
10. Brooklyn BGM8-112NR

Others receiving votes: Belmond-Klemme 10. Hinton 9. Mason City Newman 7. Lynnville-Sully 4. Akron-Westfield 2. Riverside Highland 1.

1. Westside Ar-We-Va (7)9-0881
2. Marengo Iowa Valley (2)9-0773
3. Gilbertville-Don Bosco8-1674
4. Liberty Center SE Warren10-0566
5. Fremont Mills, Tabor8-1545
6. New London8-1387
7. Elk Horn-Kimballton Exira8-1328
8. Northwood-Kensett8-1312
9. Jackson Junction Turkey Valley8-11510
(tie) Wyoming Midland9-1159

Others receiving votes: Central City 8. Newell-Fonda 8. Gladbrook-Reinbeck 3. Rockford 3.

More From 97.7 KCRR