History was made Thursday night as Iowa State running back Breece Hall became the first Unanimous All-American in school history, while Daviyon Nixon became Iowa's first Unanimous All-American on the defensive line in more than a decade.

West Virginia v Iowa State
Getty Images

Iowa State sophomore running back Breece Hall led the nation in rushing with a total of 1,572 yards this season. He finished sixth in the race for the Heisman Trophy, given to the top player in college football. Hall, the Big 12 Offensive Player of the year, had more than 100 yards rushing in a game nine times this season.

According to the Iowa State Sports Information Department, Hall also broke Iowa State single-season records for touchdowns (23), scoring (138 points), and also tied the school's rushing touchdown record (21) held by Troy Davis. Hall has lost just one fumble on 511 carries in his two years at Iowa State. He's scored a rushing touchdown in 12 consecutive games, the longest active streak in the nation.

Hall is the first Iowa State player to be named a Unanimous All-American, after being named a first-team All-American by the Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America, American Football Coaches Association, Sporting News, and Walter Camp. When Troy Davis was second in the Heisman voting in 1996, he was a first-team All-American from four of the five. The American Football Coaches Association named him to the second team.

Nebraska v Iowa
Getty Images

Iowa junior defensive tackle Daviyon Nixon was also named a Unanimous All-American. Nixon led the Big Ten in tackles for loss this season (33). He also tied for the league lead in sacks with 5.5 and his 41 tackles were tops in the Big Ten for a defensive lineman. He was previously named both the Big Ten Defensive Player and Defensive Lineman of the Year.

The University of Iowa Sports Information Department says Nixon is the first Iowa defensive lineman to be named a Unanimous All-American since Adrian Clayborn in 2010. He's the first defensive tackle at Iowa to do it since Jared DeVries in 1998.

Nixon is the sixth defensive lineman in Iowa history to be named a Unanimous All-American. He's Iowa's 27th player to be a unanimous pick, and the sixth in the last seven years. Nixon has announced he's forgoing his senior season to enter this year's NFL draft.

Iowa's sophomore center, Tyler Linderbaum of Solon, was named a second-team All-American by Walter Camp when their teams were unveiled Thursday night.

TACKLE THESE: Check Out the Best Uniforms In Each NFL Team's History

More From 97.7 KCRR