2019 Black Hawk County Peace Officer Memorial Service

Law enforcement officers in Black Hawk County paused and took time to remember their fallen comrades on Wednesday (May 15, 2019).

Officers from each of the county’s 10 agencies gathered for a ceremony to honor the 14 local men who have died in uniform since 1902, all while trying to protect the public. This year's ceremony -- held annually in conjunction with National Police Week -- took place outside Veterans Memorial Hall in downtown Waterloo.

The group of local officers who gave their lives in the line of duty over the years includes eight policemen from Waterloo, one from Cedar Falls, a La Porte City officer, two Black Hawk County sheriff’s deputies, and two Iowa State Patrol troopers.

The list of those who gave the ultimate sacrifice includes:

  • John E. Bailey – Waterloo Police Dept. (died in 1902)
  • Fred P. Widmann – Waterloo Police Dept. (1908)
  • William Goodenbour – Waterloo Police Dept. (1920)
  • Vinton J. Margretz – Waterloo Police Dept. (1925)
  • Wendell F. Dilworth – Black Hawk County Sheriff's Dept. (1932)
  • Everett Dutcher – Cedar Falls Police Dept. (1945)
  • William R. Mehlhorn, Jr. – Waterloo Police Dept. (1956)
  • Gabriel C. LaFromboise – La Porte City Police Dept. (1976)
  • Wayne R Rice - Waterloo Police Dept. (1981)
  • Michael W. Hoing – Waterloo Police Dept. (1981)
  • William F. Mullikin – Black Hawk County Sheriff's Dept. (1981)
  • Charles G. Whitney – Iowa State Patrol (1985)
  • Lance G. Dietsch – Iowa State Patrol (1989)
  • Adam D. Liddle - Waterloo Police Dept. (2015)

Each law enforcement agency in Black Hawk County takes a turn at organizing the local Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony, which is rotated among them. This year's ceremony was hosted by the La Porte City Police Department, led by Chief Chris Brecher.

More From 97.7 KCRR