All of us in Iowa already knew, but it's nice to make it official. Hawkeye and Cedar Falls, IA native Jack Campbell has been named the winner of the Dick Butkus Trophy, given to the best linebacker in the country.

He was given the award just days after he won the William V. Campbell Trophy and was named the AP Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.

This season, the senior has posted 115 tackles along with 3.5 TFLs, two interceptions, a pass breakup, a forced fumble, and a fumble recovery.

Campbell was joined as a finalist for the award by Jamon Dumas-Johnson of Georgia, Davian Henley of Washington State, Ivan Pace, Jr. of Cincinnati, and Drew Sanders of Arkansas.

Additionally, the Hawkeye linebacker was "named the Nagurski-Wooden Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and the Butkus-Fitzgerald Big Ten Linebacker of the Year and he earned first-team All-Big Ten honors for the second consecutive season. He was named a semifinalist for the Bednarik and Rotary Lombardi awards," according to Iowa's athletics website.

It added that "Campbell is the first Hawkeye to earn the Butkus Award. Former Hawkeye linebacker Josey Jewell was a semifinalist for the award in both 2016 and 2017, while Chad Greenway was a semifinalist in 2005. Larry Station placed second in the Butkus Award balloting in 1985."

Coming up on December 31 at 11 a.m., Iowa will take on Kentucky in the TransPerfect Music City Bowl. Campbell will be one of Iowa's stars who stuck around and wanted to participate in the Hawkeye's end-of-year bowl game.

Most Memorable Moments of the 2022 Iowa Football Season

Iowa finished the regular season 7-5. It will be remembered as a year the defense carried a team whose offense struggled mightily throughout the season.

A Look Inside Coralville's $3.4 Million Mansion

Have you got a few million dollars just burning a hole in your pocket? Check out this gargantuan home that's here in eastern Iowa -- you may have the next place for you and your family.


More From 97.7 KCRR