New coach, same result.

It's a three-peat for Springville.

Springville completed an incredibly successful run by its senior class by knocking off unbeaten Newell-Fonda 60-49 to win its third straight Class 1A championship at the Iowa High School Girls State Basketball Tournament Saturday night (March 3, 2018).

The top-ranked Orioles got big games from their two leaders, Mikayla Nachazel and Rylee Menster, and prevailed against the school that had defeated Springville in the 2015 championship game.

The title, the fourth overall for Springville, came in Christina Zaruba's first season as the Orioles' head coach. She had been an assistant the three previous seasons.

Nachazel, a 5-foot-11 senior, led the way with 25 points, 11 rebounds and three steals. She hit nine of 13 shots with a variety of slick moves around the basket and also knocked down a 3-pointer to help secure the victory in the fourth quarter.

Menster added 14 points, four assists and two steals in her final high school game. She and Nachazel will play at Minnesota State next season.

Nichole Kane and Sami Johnson each scored seven for the Orioles, who finish 24-3.

Megan Morenz led fourth-ranked Newell-Fonda with 12 points and Olivia Larsen scored 11. Larsen, who had totaled 51 points in the first two rounds, picked up two early fouls and played only five minutes in the first half.

Springville broke a 13-13 tie with Kane's 3-pointer early in the second quarter and led the rest of the way. However, Newell-Fonda never let the Orioles get comfortable until the final minute or so, even after Springville built a 16-point lead.

A 7-0 run drew the Mustangs to 56-47, but they could not get any closer and Springville finished off its title with free throws.

Springville, which also won a state championship in 2008, becomes the eighth school to win three consecutive titles. Nachazel, Menster and the other seniors concluded their careers with a four-year record of 97-10.

Newell-Fonda, finishing as the state runner-up for the sixth time, closed out a 26-1 season.

Nachazel was voted captain of the all-tournament team for the third straight year.

Story Courtesy of IGHSAU

Class 1A All-Tournament Team - Selected by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association

  • Rylee Menster, Springville
  • Megan Morenz, Newell-Fonda
  • Alli Masters, Central Decatur
  • Sophia Peppers, Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton
  • Olivia Larsen, Newell-Fonda
  • Mikayla Nachazel, Springville (Captain)

More From 97.7 KCRR