For the second week in a row, nine teams from the Cedar Valley and northeast Iowa are featured in the Associated Press high school football rankings, which were released on Monday (Sept. 24, 2018).

Four area teams are ranked No. 2 or higher in their respective classes in the fifth poll of the season. Among them is Dike-New Hartford, which takes over the top spot in Class-1A. The Wolverines share the No. 1 spot with Van Meter.

Hudson (Class-A) and Don Bosco (8-player) held their positions at the top of the rankings for a fifth-straight week. Hudson recorded its 16th-consecutive regular season victory by shutting out BCLUW Friday night, while the Dons extended the state's longest-active winning streak to 25 games with a decisive victory over Tripoli.

Cedar Falls kept its No. 2 position in Class-4A for a second-straight week after blanking Dubuque Hempstead 39-0.

Other area teams featured in the this week's survey include: Waukon (No. 6, Class-2A), La Porte City Union (No. 10, 2A), Sumner-Fredericksburg (No. 10, 1A),  North Tama (No. 6, A), and Edgewood-Colesburg (No. 10, A).

Seven other teams from the Cedar Valley and northeast received votes in the latest six-class poll, but just missed being ranked among the top 10. Those teams were: Independence, Waverly-Shell Rock, Decorah, Waterloo Columbus Catholic, Grundy Center, Wapsie Valley and Turkey Valley.

The Top Ten teams in the Associated Press Iowa high school football polls of the 2018 season with first-place votes in parentheses and won-loss record, total points and position last week at right:

1. West Des Moines Valley (9)5-01081
2. Cedar Falls (1)5-0972
3. Ankeny Centennial (1)5-0883
4. Bettendorf4-1684
5. Johnston4-1535
5. Iowa City West4-1536
7. West Des Moines Dowling3-2497
8. Indianola5-0398
9. Waukee3-2219
10. Cedar Rapids Prairie4-11710

Others receiving votes: Fort Dodge 10. Ankeny 1. Muscatine 1.

1. Cedar Rapids Xavier (10)5-01091
2. Council Bluffs Lewis Central (1)5-0982
3. Solon5-0883
4. Pella5-0784
5. Sergeant Bluff-Luton4-1516
6. Eldridge North Scott4-1488
7. Epworth Western Dubuque4-13910
8. Clear Creek-Amana5-0379
9. Harlan4-128NR
10. Sioux City Heelan4-1185

Others receiving votes: Independence 4. Waverly-Shell Rock 4. Decorah 3.

1. Monroe PCM (11)5-01101
2. Spirit Lake5-0942
3. Boyden-Hull-RV4-1873
4. Algona5-0725
5. Greene County5-0646
6. Waukon4-1597
7. Clear Lake4-1448
8. State Center West Marshall4-13410
9. Van Horne Benton4-1154
10. Union, La Porte City3-213NR

Others receiving votes: Waterloo Columbus Catholic 5. Des Moines Christian 4. Tipton 2. Chariton 2.

1. Dike-New Hartford (3)5-0962
(tie) Van Meter (4)5-0963
3. Bellevue (2)5-0765
4. South Central Calhoun (1)5-0754
5. Mediapolis5-0566
6. West Branch4-1491
7. Hawarden West Sioux4-1487
8. Inwood West Lyon4-1358
9. Truro Interstate 355-025T9
10. Sumner-Fredericksburg5-023T9

Others receiving votes: Wilton 13. Cascade 10. Pella Christian 3.

1. Hudson (8)5-01051
2. A-H-S-T-W, Avoca (3)5-0952
3. Algona Garrigan5-0883
4. Belmond-Klemme5-0694
5. Hinton5-0465
6. Packwood Pekin4-1417
(tie) Traer North Tama4-1416
8. St. Ansgar4-1399
9. Brooklyn BGM5-025NR
10. Edgewood-Colesburg4-124NR

Others receiving votes: Grundy Center 10. Southwest Valley 7. Fairbank Wapsie Valley 6. Riverside Highland 4. Mason City Newman 3. Sioux Rapids Sioux Central 1. Alta 1.

1. Gilbertville-Don Bosco (8)5-01021
2. New London (2)5-0952
3. Elk Horn-Kimballton Exira5-0843
4. Westside Ar-We-Va5-0684
5. Marengo Iowa Valley (1)5-0575
6. Newell-Fonda5-0506
7. Liberty Center SE Warren6-0478
8. Fremont Mills, Tabor4-1369
9. Central City5-030NR
10. Northwood-Kensett5-017NR

Others receiving votes: Jackson Junction Turkey Valley 7. Wyoming Midland 7. Stanton 4. HLV, Victor 1.

More From 97.7 KCRR