Contact Us

Wartburg Wrestlers Make History At NCAA Championships

Wartburg College Ahletics
Wartburg College Ahletics
It’s never been done at the NCAA Division-III level until now. The Wartburg wrestling team won it’s fourth-straight NCAA Championship on Saturday (March 15, 2014) and in doing so became the first team in the country to four-peat.

The title is the 11th in program history for the Knights. The 11th team championship ties Augsburg’s NCAA record. The National Championship has been won by either Wartburg or Augsburg every year since 1995.

While winning their latest team title, Wartburg also crowned three individuals national champions for the second time in school history.

The Knights won their latest championship with 103.5 team points. Wartburg’s individual titlists were Kenny Anderson at 133 pounds, Cole Welter at 165, and Landon Williams at 174. Ryan Fank finished as a national runner-up for the Knights at 285 pounds.

It took overtime for Anderson to win his match. With his 4-2 decision over Ithaca’s Alex Gomez, Anderson won his third-straight crown and became the third three-time national champion in school history and the 13th three-time champion in NCAA history.

This year’s NCAA Championships were held at the U.S. Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids.

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Recommended For You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for 97.7 KCRR quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive 97.7 KCRR contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.