Athletic Director and head coach Rick Willis has released the Wartburg Knights' 2017 football schedule, which features a program-record six home games.

The Knights have recorded 24 consecutive winning seasons, which is tied for the fourth-longest streak in all NCAA divisions. They own a 197-48 record (.804 winning percentage) over the last 22 seasons.

Wartburg finished 6-4 overall and 5-3 in Iowa Conference games last season.

The Knights open their 2017 campaign at home on Sept. 9, hosting Monmouth (Ill.) at 7 p.m. Wartburg leads the all-time series at 5-1. The Scots earned the automatic bid to the NCAA Playoffs last season as they won their Midwest Conference Championship. The Knights are 9-0 in night home openers in the Walston-Hoover Stadium era (since 2001).

On Sept. 16, Wartburg travels to Indianola to face Simpson in the Iowa Conference opener.

Wartburg hosts a brand new opponent, Washington University in St. Louis on Sept. 23. These teams have never met in program history. The Bears received an at-large bid to the NCAA Playoffs last season.

The annual Homecoming and family weekend game is scheduled for Oct. 14 against Loras at 1:30 p.m.

The 2017 season marks the third time in program history the Knights will play six regular-season games at home.


2017 WARTBURG FOOTBALL SCHEDULE
Sat., Sept. 2: Bye
Sat., Sept. 9: vs. Monmouth (Ill.) 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 16: at Simpson* 1:00 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 23: vs. Washington University (St. Louis) 1:00 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 30: vs. Coe* 1:00 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 7: at Central* 1:00 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 14: vs. Loras* (H/F) 1:30 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 21: at Luther* 1:00 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 28: vs. Dubuque* 1:00 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 4: at Buena Vista* 1:00 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 11: vs. Nebraska Wesleyan* 1:00 p.m.
* Iowa Conference Game
H/F – Homecoming & Family Weekend