Three-fifths of the field is set for the State High School Softball Tournament. AGWSR, North Butler and Center Point-Urbana are among the 24 teams in Iowa's three smallest classes that earned a trip to Fort Dodge by winning regional championship games Monday night (July 14, 2014).

AGWSR earned its second-straight trip to state by beating Don Bosco. 9-5, in the Class-1A regional championship game played at Parkersburg. The fourth-ranked Cougars (27-6) will play 11th-ranked Bellevue Marquette Catholic (34-6) at 3 p.m. on Tuesday (July 22).

In Class-2A, unranked North Butler earned its first trip to state by upsetting 13th-ranked Denver, 4-3, in a 10-inning regional final at Charles City. The Bearcats (18-8) next face 2nd-ranked Earlham (28-4) in the state quarterfinals at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday (July 22).

Center Point-Urbana is going back to the state tournament 20 years after its first appearance. The 6th-ranked Stormin' Pointers beat Mount Vernon, 8-5, in the Class-3A regional title game at Cedar Rapids Jefferson. Center Point-Urbana (28-9) faces unranked Greene County (27-7) in the state quarterfinals at 5 p.m. on Monday.

The state softball tournament will be played at Harlan and Hazel Rogers Park in Fort Dodge, beginning Monday and continuing through Friday, July 25th.


Class-1A Regional Finals:


At Battle Creek (OA-BCIG):
Glidden-Ralston 6, Remsen St. Mary’s 2

At Chariton:
Wayne 14, Mount Ayr 2 (3)

At Cherokee (Washington):
Akron-Westfield 6, Newell-Fonda 2

At Cresco (Crestwood):
Kee 12, Mason City Newman Catholic 0 (5 innings)

At Greenfield (Nodaway Valley):
Martensdale-St. Marys 3, Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton 0

At Oskaloosa:
Lynnville-Sully 11, HLV 1 (6)

At Parkersburg (Aplington-Parkersburg):
AGWSR 9, Don Bosco 5

At Wilton:
Marquette Catholic 3, New London 0

Class-2A Regional Finals:


At Algona:
Saint Ansgar 4, Manson-NW Webster 0

At Cedar Rapids (Jefferson):
Alburnett 2, North Cedar 0

At Charles City:
North Butler 4, Denver 3 (10 innings)

At Colfax (Colfax-Mingo):
Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont 10, BCLUW 2

At Denison (Denison-Schleswig):
Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto 3, Treynor 0

At LeMars:
Woodbury Central 4, South O’Brien 2

At Ogden:
Earlham 5, Fort Dodge St. Edmond 2

At Washington:
Highland 11, Pella Christian 10

Class-3A Regional Finals:


At Battle Creek (OA-BCIG):
Greene County 12, Sioux Center 3

At Cedar Rapids (Jefferson):
Center Point-Urbana 8, Mount Vernon 5

At Emmetsburg:
Spirit Lake 6, Osage 5

At Iowa City (West):
Mid-Prairie 6, Benton 5

At Ottumwa:
West Burlington/Notre Dame 6, PCM 4

At Roland (Roland-Story):
Bondurant-Farrar 10, Humboldt 0 (5)

At Waterloo (West):
East Marshall 11, New Hampton 4

At Winterset:
Clarke 4, ADM 3


Class-4A Regional Semifinals:

At Manchester (West Delaware):
West Delaware 7, Western Dubuque 1

At Oskaloosa:
Oskaloosa 5, Pella 2

At Fairfield:
Fairfield 9, Mount Pleasant 1

Class-5A Regional Semifinals:


At Cedar Rapids (Prairie):
Pleasant Valley 9, Cedar Rapids Prairie 8

At Iowa City (West):
Davenport West 7, Iowa City West 1

At Muscatine:
Muscatine 12, Bettendorf 3

At Ottumwa:
Ottumwa 13, Iowa City High 3 (6 innings)