On Sunday, May 4, 2014, the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models travel to the Quad City Speedway in East Moline, IL.  The Hershel Roberts Memorial has known only one winner, Ray Guss Jr.

Guss, from Milan, will try to win the Deery Brothers Summer Series event held to honor his late friend, car owner and fellow driver for the fourth straight time this Sunday.

Only one driver in Deery Series history has won four consecutive events at the same track. Mark Burgtorf of Quincy accomplished the feat at Lee County Speedway over the course of the 1998-2000 seasons.

A dozen series events had been held at East Moline.  Before Guss launched his streak of three straight Roberts Memorial victories in 2011, there has only been a single repeat winner  at the Quad City Speedway – Rob Toland of Colona in 1998 and 2004.

The IMCA Late Model tour feature pays $3,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start.

Pit gates at East Moline will open at 3 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 3:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 5:15 p.m. with racing to follow.

Spectator admission is $16 for adults, $8 for kids ages 6-12 and free for five and under. Pit passes are $30.

More information is available at the www.qcspeedwayracing.com website or by calling 309 792-5030. IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds, Street Stocks, and Midget Lites are also on the card.

Tentative rain date is Sunday, May 11.

Contributing Source: Bill Martin of IMCA

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings
1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, Iowa, 140;
2. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, Iowa, 139;
3. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, Iowa, 132;
4. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, Iowa, 129;
5. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, Iowa, 127;
6. Tommy Elston, Keokuk, Iowa, 126;
7. Jason Rauen, Farley, Iowa, 125;
8. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, Iowa, 120;
9. Matt Ryan, Davenport, Iowa, 119;
10. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, Iowa, 117;
11. Scott Fitzpatrick, Long Grove, Iowa, 101;
12. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa, 100;
13. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, 98;
14. Rob Moss, Iowa City, Iowa, 92;
15. Terry Neal, Ely, Iowa, 88;
16. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, Iowa, 86;
17. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, 85;
18. Jon Merfeld, Dubuque, Iowa, 83;
19. Ron Klein, Sherrill, Iowa, 77;
20. Jeremy Grady, Story City, Iowa, 75.