The Waterloo Black Hawks earned the Anderson Cup in dramatic fashion thanks to a 3-2 shootout win against the Cedar Rapids RoughRiders.  Playoffs begin Friday.

One standings point from pushing Saturday’s game to overtime made the Waterloo Black Hawks the outright Anderson Cup champions, and the other point coming from a favorable shootout against the Cedar Rapids RoughRiders sent Young Arena fans home happy as the home team prevailed by an official final of 3-2.

The crowd of 3,471 knew the Hawks had won the Anderson Cup at the end of regulation, despite a 5-2 Indiana Ice win versus the Chicago Steel which temporarily tied the standings between the two teams in contention for the United States Hockey League regular season championship.

Fans still hung on each shot during overtime and roared as eight different Waterloo shooters attempted to win the shootout. Jake Horton finally did it in the ninth round, recording the only shootout goal on a backhander over Danny Tirone. In the opposite crease, Cameron Johnson made sure Cedar Rapids could not put the puck into the net on any of their nine opportunities.

Tickets for the Black Hawks’ first round playoff series beginning Friday and Saturday against the Sioux Falls Stampede are on sale now. Waterloo will meet the Stampede after they finished fourth in the USHL Western Conference. For more information, call the Domino’s Black Hawks Box Office at (319) 291-7680 or visit

2014 Clark Cup Playoffs Schedule: Western Division Semi-Finals

GAME 1: Friday, April 11 - Young Arena - 7:05 p.m.

GAME 2: Saturday, April 12 – Young Arena – 7:05 p.m.

GAME 3: Thursday, April 17 – Sioux Falls Arena – 7:05p.m.

(If Necessary)

GAME 4: Friday, April 18 – Sioux Falls Arena – 7:05 p.m.

GAME 5: Tuesday, April 22 – Young Arena – 7:05 p.m.