NCAA 6th Fan Contest - Vote Not for the Panthers

The NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association), CBS Sports and Turner Sports announced today the top 16 schools that have advanced to the Sweet Sixteen in the NCAA 6th Fan Contest - which includes the University of Northern Iowa. Vote Now.

The field in the online competition has narrowed to 16 schools for the contest’s second round. Fans of the Sweet Sixteen Division I men’s basketball programs can cast votes on until February 23 to prove that their school belongs in the Elite Eight® of the most spirited, most dedicated, most passionate fans. NCAA 6th Fan is a national contest for fans to show their school pride and support online in an NCAA March Madness-style competition.

The following schools have advanced to the Sweet Sixteen and are listed below in their seeded head-to-head match-ups (voting is open February 17-23):

#1 North Dakota State University vs.
#16 University of Portland

#2 Arkansas State University vs.
#15 University of North Carolina, Greensboro

#3 South Dakota State University vs.
#14 University of Arkansas, Little Rock


NCAA 6th Fan Contest - Click to Vote

#4 University of Texas, Pan American vs.
#13 University of Northern Iowa

#5 University of Central Florida vs.
#12 Southern University, Baton Rouge

#6 Western Illinois University vs.
#11 University of New Mexico

#7 Bryant University vs.
#10 University of North Carolina, Asheville

#8 Brigham Young University vs.
#9 Western Carolina University

Each school in the 6th Fan’s Sweet Sixteen is receiving $10,000 in general scholarship funds, with each having the flexibility to award the dollars to a randomly selected student or for deposit in the school’s general scholarship fund. Following a week of Round 2 voting, schools that receive more votes than their head-to-head competitor will advance to the Elite 8, which will be announced February 24. On March 3, following another week of head-to-head voting match-ups, the schools advancing to the contest’s Final Four® will be announced. The two finalists will be named March 10.

Fans can vote for the remaining 16 schools in the contest at as well as check out current voting in each head-to-head matchup. To prove which of the Sweet Sixteen fan base is most passionate, supporters are asked to vote daily on, or via Twitter using #6thFan and their school’s unique hashtag (UNI's is #NIOWA). Fans also can connect their Facebook to the site to vote and register for a chance to win prizes.